Sign in to follow this  
westyellmt

Adding RAID 1 to existing WinXP system.

A friend is planning to add a Promise RAID card to his month old Dell P4 WinXP system. He's currently running 1 x 120GB IDE WD HDD.

Is it possible to install the Promise card and second WD drive in a RAID 1 configuration within the current WindowsXP installation or will he have to install the Promise controller and 2nd drive and then re-install WindowsXP?

As you can tell from the above I have zero experience with RAID configs.

Thanks for any suggestions, tips, or help.

Harry

I think most low-end IDE RAID controllers will be able to do this. They can take an existing drive, pair it with a new drive and duplicate the data to it, and use the pair in RAID 1 without affecting the data or having to reinstall.

Most high-end controllers don't work this way, but can work around it if they support RAID level migration. For example, my Compaq controller can convert from a single drive RAID 0 (the method it uses to present a single drive) to a two drive RAID 1 by first adding a new drive to the array set then migrating from RAID 0 to RAID 1.

I think most low-end IDE RAID controllers will be able to do this.  They can take an existing drive, pair it with a new drive and duplicate the data to it, and use the pair in RAID 1 without affecting the data or having to reinstall.

Most high-end controllers don't work this way, but can work around it if they support RAID level migration.  For example, my Compaq controller can convert from a single drive RAID 0 (the method it uses to present a single drive) to a two drive RAID 1 by first adding a new drive to the array set then migrating from RAID 0 to RAID 1.

That last part doesn't sound smart (performance and security-wise).