Davin

Western Digital Caviar WD2500JB

Though it delivers file server performance in line with that of the WD2000JB, the Caviar WD2500JB stumbles a bit when it comes to the read-intensive Web Server DriveMark 2002.

I'm not sure what is meant by this statement. Compared to the WD2000JB, the 2500 is better in the web server DriveMark. Compared to the other drives, the WD remains in 3rd place. Meanwhile, it is slightly slower than the 2000 on the File Server test. Clarification, please?

Anyways:

Hasn't anyone noticed the top plate cover for this drive, it has changed; i'd like to know why? ANyway, it is only a big drive, nothing more. I just hope that maxtor can release their mammoth drive 300 gig sometime soon, so SR can review it! It also help if SR started talking more about servers, since more and more SR people are considering it. I would be happy to start a section, since I am an expert in ATA servers!!!...

thx mann!

I'm not sure what is meant by this statement. Compared to the WD2000JB, the 2500 is better in the web server DriveMark. Compared to the other drives, the WD remains in 3rd place. Meanwhile, it is slightly slower than the 2000 on the File Server test. Clarification, please?

Indeed, there was a mixup :oops:

It's slated to be fixed, thanks :)

Anyways:

Hasn't anyone noticed the top plate cover for this drive, it has changed; i'd like to know why?

I've noticed top cover designs change somewhat between generations for just about everybody. The extent of the changes are dependent on design requirements. Some are just more noticeable than others.

I suppose we could email WD and ask why they changed it, but I somehow doubt they'd give a detailed answer. ;)

areal density continues to be a relative non-factor in driving today's performance to higher levels.