Sign in to follow this  
brashquido

Yet more RAID help needed!?!

Hi All,

Had an interview test for a job I went for, and they had a question regarding RAID that I can't seem to get my workmates to agree on (I'm no RAID expert);

Which RAID configuration provides the best I/O performance, while still providing redundancy?

I answered RAID 0+1, two of my workmates think RAID 5, and one thinks a decent hardware controller with load balancing and RAID 1.

I'd really value some input, thanks.

It's somewhat dependent on the implementation. I'd say there's no "right" answer without a better definition of the configuration.

RAID0+1 can be the fastest. But for RAID0+1 you need to write 2x the amount of data. That slows things down if the mirror set isn't split across two independent busses.

RAID 3 or 5 both require checksum calculations that can slow either reads or writes (depending on which one you use), though this can be helped significantly HW support built into the Controller (you're out of luck for software RAIDs, though). RAID 3 and 5 do not require 2x the amount of data be written, so there's a speed advantage for single-bus configurations.

Life is rarely as simple as "which is best". There are other factors...

RAID0+1 is the least efficient use of your HDDs, since total capacity 1/2N*HDDs. Also, you need to use drives in groups of 2, which can add additional expense depending on your capacity target. On the positive side, RAID0+1 can be more fault tolerant depending on which drives fail. As long as there's one drive from each stripe segment left, you could theoretically lose 50% of the drives in the array and not lose data.

Of course, Murphy's Law demands that if two are going to fail, they'll probably both be in the same stripe segment and you'll be "toast".