tryllz

Understanding Disk Array Availability..

Hi,

I'm new to this thus I'm trying to understand about calculating Disk Array Availability (DAA).

What I have understood so far is that availability is always 1, and Failure = 1÷MTBF.

Could someone explain in simple English how to calculate DAA.

Assuming I have 1TB and the time is 5 years, and the disk's MTBF is 1.6 millions hours (got this from Dell's website for a 15K RPM disk), I need to know the availability of this disk in 5 years, how do I calculate, what is the formula, I'm seeing , MTTl, MTTR, and MTTDL and getting confused.

Another confusion is, is disk array availability associated only with RAID.

Appreciate the assistance.

Currently I'm using this as reference : http://www.ecs.umass.edu/ece/koren/architecture/Raid/reliability.html

Also in the reference it says double disk failure, does the double disk mean any 2 disks or what, because once we find the availability of 1 disk would multiplying that into 2 NOT give us the double disk failure..

If anyone knows of any other good reference that explains in simple English.

Thank You

The link you have refers to disk arrays, which in general definition are always composed of multiple disks (hence the name, disk array) whereas you appear to be referring to a single disk. With a single disk there's no availability calculation to be done beyond MTBF.

A more useful metric for you to worry about might be AFR, annualized failure rate, for your particular model of disk. Check the specs for that to get what should hopefully be an accurate spec (or speculation) on the odds of your single disk failing over the course of a year. Then you can start looking up formulas that calculate failure rates out to five years.

And if it helps any, availability is most certainly not 1 all the time, although that may be the desired goal!

1 hour ago, continuum said: