Sign in to follow this  
storageviewknight

HDD platter swap , is it possible?

Greetings everyone,

I have a Seagate ST500DM002 internal HDD wich was opened, and accidently the platter was scratched.

Therefore i want to swap that platter with another unused one of the same exact model:
   - Is it worth a try or would it not work?

-I heard that the controller also have some informations stored in as the  Serial number , HDD Type....would it be an issue? 

-Is there a way to detect that a platter swap have been done , i.e does the platter hold some  informations other than user data? like the ones in the controller concerning specs of the hard (serial number as well....) so that the swap would be detected

If any experienced geek can answer those questions i would be very thankfull , because frankly i'm a newbie in this field.

Thanks.

Forget the scratch, you killed the drive the moment you opened it. The read/write head operates at micron distance from the platter surface, therefore any grain of dust is a huge boulder in there. When you opened the drive you did let in a lot of dust. The drives are assembled in special factory chambers with just several particles of dust per cubic meter of air.

And yes, the HDD controller has a table of defective sectors which is populated at factory initialization time (since each platter comes out of the production line with its own particular bad sectors) so the controller knows to avoid those sectors during day to day operation.

I'm sorry for you, but you need to buy another drive.

Edited by Katy

Thank you for your responses katy.

So technically it is impossible ,i guess the first question was answered.

Now theorically speaking is there a relationship between the platter and the controller for that exact model?

Nevermind if it'll work or not, i just want  to replace that platter with another.

Is there a way to detect a platter swap?(theorically)