Sign in to follow this  
afs

ATA versus SCSI

I apologize in advance for this topic. I'm sure it has been introduced in this forum umpteen times. But with money becoming increasingly tight ( I am a grad student) I must make the choice--SCSI v. ATA.

I am a long time Mac user, very familiar and comfortable with SCSI. I am currently running a Maxtor 10kII off of a Adaptec 2940UW. I like it very much. I also have an external array of two IBM 7200 UW SCSI drives.

I just purchased a G4 500MHz (Sawtooth). My plan was to run the system and apps on a ATA drive, maybe the newer IBM 7200 40Gig. In addition, I was going to add a two drive array consisting of two Maxtor 10kIIIs and the Adaptec 29160 ($270x2 + 300 = $840).

I am planning to do video work. I purchased an Aurora Igniter = MJPEG compression at 1.5:1 or upto 13MB/s.

Is SCSI sill worth the investment??

Any thoughts would be greatly apprechiated.

Alex

I think that one of the first questions I would ask you is "Is the 13 MB/s for one stream of video or more than one stream?"

If it is just one stream, then you would probably be alright with a single ATA/IDE drive without RAID. If it's more than one stream, then RAID will definitely help.

I think that nowadays, besides price being the big difference and the history between ATA and SCSI, I think (from what I"ve read so far) that the biggest difference between the two now is size of the drive, rotational speed, which in turn, affects access/seek times. That seems to be a really big thing nowadays since besides, that, there hasn't really been much improvement or actual innovation going into the drives. (Though I personally think that the IBM drives with the ramp load/unload is a VERY good idea).