Dolph

DAS but not DAS; SDS but not SDS

6 posts in this topic

I could just spit out my question first, and probably get the answer.  Without an introduction and a little soap box time, I would be pretty lame!

First off, let me get a couple of things out there:

1. Brand new here. Heyy! Hai!

2. I work as an engineer in the SMB space. Designing on-premise, private cloud, whatever fits the need, etc.

3. I have a couple of biases, or accurate observations. Eye of the beholder, I suppose.

- FC is dead/dying/overpriced/bloated/etc...

- Hyper Convergence is the wave of the future. Operative word being future.

- Dell/EMC merger sure does look like an abomination right now.

- Most of the big vendors are drug dealers. First hit is "free", but hold onto your knickers when you want to upgrade and/or renewals show up.

That should cover most background questions.

I have a question coming...

Lots of my customers follow the path... Step 1. OS on bare metal; Step 2. multiple OSes on single hypervisor host; Step 3. multi-OSes on multi-host on DAS;  and 90% don't grow past that. My question falls mostly in the Step 3 arena, with focus on storage.

Background of where the need arises: Usually I would start with an entry level SAN, but in that hybrid DAS environment. AKA not 3-tier (Hosts->switches->SAN). There are plenty of manufacturers of entry level SAN/DAS that fit this description. So I want to tweeze apart, and insert a need that might exist, but is currently forced into entry level SAN/DAS.

To create the ability to have shared storage, to allow for some form of High Availability, without the external storage. This sounds like vSAN/HC, but bare with me. 

Onto the question. The best way to frame it would be pointing out a piece meal parts of a solution that I don't quite understand, and see if it rings any bells.