Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jwells

WDC Red Pro 8TB Too Quiet

9 posts in this topic

Western Digital is coming out with a Red Pro 7200 8TB soon. I've looked at the stats here:

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/SpecSheet/ENG/2879-800022.pdf

If find it interesting that the idle noise on this beast is 20 dBA. Idle noise on all other 7200 Red Pro and Blacks are in a narrow range of 29-31 dBA, irrespective of size. The weight on the new 8TB is 1.43 lbs, vs. 1.56 lbs for the 6TB, 5TB, 4TB and 3TB Red Pro's.

What could possibly account for these disparities, especially the much lower noise, other than a misprint?

IANAHDE (I am not a harddrive engineer), but helium means less drag on the platters and heads despite the more dense platter stack they permit, so less noise. To spin a more dense platter stack (maximum of 7 platters rather than 5), even with helium, probably requires a higher quality motor along with more attention to its design and mounting (i,e. spindle anchored at both ends rather than just one), which could (but do not necessarily) improve noise.

Weight, despite the extra platter, is probably somewhat offset by the fact that the casing for the drive is now forged aluminum rather than cast or billet-- I suspect some or much of this comes from the mechanical design improvements that the better metallurgy offers, as well as the necessity in creating a leak-proof environment for the helium, which is nasty stuff-- it escapes through many other "solid" materials very easily. The motor, actuator arms, etc. may also be lighter due to less drag they have to deal with. (again, speculation)

And last but not least, AFAIK, harddisk makers are notorious for publishing the maximum weight in many specifications, frequently the drives are actually lighter than the published weight.