Sign in to follow this  
arxaios

Sumsung 840 series and EVO unexpected situation

Hello to you all, I would like to share with you a very strange situation about SSD drives and especially with the 840 Samsung series production line....!! First of all I would like to say that I have a Samsung 840 series 120Gbytes and one 840 EVO 120Gbytes in my possession. The 840 series has a double boot Ubuntu System (different OS versions) and the EVO one has Windows 8.1 Havier.Both disks were working fine without any problems for 2 years. Now comes the fun part of my story... I am a computer engineer for 30 years and I haven't encountered such a problem before... One day , when I was inside my Ubuntu 840 Series Samsung, the OS started behaving strangely and in the end after 2 reboots the operating system died...!! Ok, sh**t happens even with Ubuntu., maybe some updates didn't installed ok and caused this problem. Anyway...I decided to use one of my backups to recover the disk using at first Acronis Image 2015...and I realized that the procedure was to take about 8-9.45 Hours .... Ahhhhhhhhhhh was I seeing correctly or was I having something with my eyes??????????????? I let it run a little bit and the time was rising minute by minute and in the summary logs no files were transferred to my SSD...!!! Very odd...!! I was forced to stop the procedure and start again with another version of Acronis True Image..!! I used 2014 thinking maybe this was the case...Nothing , the same time and round 3% of 45minutes the Acronis showed problems in writing to the disk. Ok that was it , I thought that the disk was dead for sure...I was very disappointing but I did not give up. I hooked the disk as a second to a Windows 7 machine and Quick Format the disk in NTFS. That went well, the disk was ready to throw files in it..!! Strange...very strange...!! Xmmmm I started to wonder other things..!! Well My story is bit long so there is more to it..!! Well, my goal is to put an operating system to disk