Brian

Seagate Laptop SSHD 1TB Review Discussion

Overall, the 1TB Seagate Laptop SSHD certainly offers those looking to inexpensively upgrade their HDD-based device with a viable choice. It's much lower price tag than that of a large capacity SSD. For those looking to a higher capacity option on a budget, the Seagate Laptop SSHD is a worthy contender in the SSHD market.

Seagate Laptop SSHD 1TB Review

Nice, I was actually thinking about buying one for an older laptop, 500gb capacity that is, because 1 platter is always better than two ;) Also the 3 year warranty, does it apply to oem drives as well?

On the side note, DOM: 07/2015 and they still use the old logo...

Edited by ChrisMcPole

Don't get me started on logos ;)

Not sure on OEM warranties, normally those pass through I think, but I have no recent experience, sorry. Maybe someone else knows and can weigh in.

It's a bit awkward to define what an "OEM" drive is these days given how many places sell "OEM" drives at retail.

If it's from a retailer (e.g. Newegg, Ebuyer, Amazon, etc.) marked as "OEM" it usually comes with the full warranty in my experience, if it's an OEM drive bundled inside an actual device (e.g. laptop, NAS, USB drive, etc.) then it will not have warranty of its own. Ironically Seagate used to offer longer warranties on bare-drives than retail boxed but I dunno if that's still true.

Overall, the 1TB Seagate Laptop SSHD certainly offers those looking to inexpensively upgrade their HDD-based device with a viable choice. It's much lower price tag than that of a large capacity SSD.

Dammit, just bought a 1TB SSD :(

I swear you guys had already reviewed the 1TB Seagate SSHD, but Googling I can't find it. You have reviewed the 500GB version though, that is 7mm thick.

http://www.storagereview.com/seagate_sshd_thin_review_gen3_500gb_st500lm000