Sign in to follow this  
Alkali

High Quality Digital Video Suite suggestions needed

I am getting very interested by digital video and photography, and would like to know what the best ideas are out there for me :)

My budget is around £1000 in total.

My needs:

1. Digital camcorder for multiple uses including, family video and professional video.

2. Digital still capabilty either in the camcorder (but this would need to be very high quality - enough to look very crisp at 1280x1024), or as a seperate digital camera.

3. Computer connectivity - as far as I can tell getting a PCI Firewire card for my PC is the best idea for transfers.

4. PC programs - Adobe Premier I have heard to be very good, but I am looking for a relatively simple editor that can export movies as .mpeg or .mov.

I'm new to this field, so any suggestions about equipment or referalls of where to look for more info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in anticipation :)

Regards,

Tim

I just got started in DV. I bought the ADS Pyro ProDV Firewire PCI adapter card, which came bundled with a full version of Ulead Media Studio 6.0. Cost me $188.95. Media Studio is supposed to have less of a learning curve than Premiere. It's a nice program with plenty of power, and I'm getting the hang of it quickly. The latest version is 6.5, though.

I also bought a cheap ($22) Koutech Systems KW-582V2 Firewire card for my other computer. That comes bundled with Ulead Vidoe Studio 3.0, a much more barebones program, not nearly the power. Haven't checked it out yet.

For my own experience, a camcorder can not deliver high quality stills. Although the CCD basics are the same, they are designed for video or stills.

For professional video, you'll have to get a 3 CCD camcorder. They are over US$2000.

For stills, I have good experience with the Sony DSC-S75 and I am going to switch to the DSC-F707.

The DSC-F707 is a 5 Megapixel camera.

I've read that Nikon among other are OK.