pjmac123

RAID 5: Idiots Guide to Replacing a Faulty Disk (Using Intel SRCSATAWB

Hi folks,

I'm new to RAID, so please forgive my naivety, but I have just had the weekend from hell at work and am looking for some advice on how I can make life easier next time I have a RAID failure.

I'll cut a long story short - last week, one of the disks in the RAID array on our domain controller failed and I ended up losing ALL OF OUR DATA (nearly 500GB worth of docs for over 100 staff and 600 students). Thankfully I have recovered all data from a backup so we have only lost 1 days worth of work, but even so, the whole point of having RAID is so that when there is a disk failure we can replace the disk without any data loss.

Before I replaced the disk, I scoured the web high and low and could not find any reasonable guide on how to replace a failed disk and rebuild the array, so I had to go it alone. From within the 'Intel RAID Web Console 2' I chose the failed disk and clicked 'prepare for removal'. I powered off the server, replaced the disk and after a reboot, made the disk 'online' - at this point all our server data became corrupt. I ended up having to 'initialise' the array, and then recovered the (virtual) disk from an Acronis backup (thank goodness for Acronis!).

Could somebody please help by posting an idiots guide on the correct procedure for replacing a disk without any data loss. Specific instructions for the Intel SRCSATAWB would be ideal, but failing that, any general instructions would be better than nothing. I dread the thought of another disk failing without the correct knowledge to fix it.

Many thanks in advance,

Phil.

The best advice I have ever received is to clone all of the drives in the RAID array before attempting a rebuild. This way, if your rebuild fails you can try again. Sorry such general advice...but i have no specific advice for that controller. Sounds like a freak occurrence (the worst kind!).

Hi there,