Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
userwords

Newb at raid how to achieve the backup i want under windows 7 ultimate

2 posts in this topic

Im becoming paranoid with hard disk drive beaking. I have 5 seagates 4x 1tb 4 to 3 year old and 1x320gb 6 to 5 year old.

At this point they are near to full, so i will replace at least one with a st3000dm01 seagate 7200.14 3tb .

But i want at the same time to make some kind of mirroring so my data is safer from now on.

Although im more or less savvy at computers and build mines (i dont work on IT nor i studied anything like that), ive never made a raid.

Ive found this:

SHarkoon 5-BAY RAID Box

There is a similar one from Lian li which seems much better as it is built on aluminium and uses a single 14cm silent fant. But while Sharkoon can use 5x3tb drives up to 15tb, Lian li can only use 5x2tb up to 10tb.

I like to buy only 1 or 2 platter hard drives to keep breaking rate low, but as you know, those smart asses at seagate are not using 1tb platter in their new 2tb disk.

So it makes no sense for me to buy 2tb seagate drives because they have as many platters as their 3tb drive but with lower quality, and 1tb 1 platter disks are not enough to fit all.

So im forced to do it all around st3000dm001 seagate 7200.14 3tb 3x1tb platter drives. Probabbly will swap one 1tb drive for a 3tb drive, and then in the external enclosure put 2 or 3 3tb drives for backup.

Now the question:

Using what i suggest or any other suggested materials or technologies

Which would be the best way to keep an updated backup (not necessarily in real time).

Considering that i have different uses and backup priority for my drives:

1tb seagate, windows bot drive only

1tb seagate, application software only

320gb seagate, personal data (HIGHLY IMPORTANT)

1tb seagate, games only (IF this one breaks and i have to redownload all my steam games and reconfigure every game options graphics and keyboard after install ill knock my head against the table XD)