Sign in to follow this  
Atomicslave

Raid Controller/Drive Recommendation

Right now i am about to invest some money into a hardware raid controller for home, i am stuck on either the adaptec 6805 or the areca 1880i both are quite similar.

I was going to use either

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136792

or

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822145472

for disks and run the array in Raid 6.

Both drives dont seem to be on the supported list for either card but i believe they should work, can anyone comment on either controller being good or bad or is there a better one? Also can anyone recommend a better drive choice while still being the same price range?

I have no experience with either controller, but I have worked with older Adaptec cards and they've always been solid. When I was having problems with my 3ware 9650se I was looking hard at the Adaptec 31605 and everything I read was positive. The only thing that stopped me from following through on that was a firmware update that's so far resolved my reset issue.