scotte1

Need some advice on HD's

Hi,

Im speccing out 6 servers for our unit, I like the costing of Dell Servers and the Perc 6/i card will do for us. However I am banging my head against the wall with regards to storage. Now I am pretty new to server scene, I aint gonna lie, but very comfortable around computer hardware, have built many machines in my past, admittadly not servers.

Issue is this, I am trying to do this as cheap as possible (not use cheap drives!) as we are a non profit. However the dell costing for the hard drives is crazy, $540 for a 1tb 7200rpm sata disk ????!??! I know I can get them cheaper else where. What is standard practice for purchasing HDD hardware from vendors? I know they wont be covered under dell warranty. But I have 34 drives in my design, thats alot of money through dell, i can buy two more servers for that!

These servers are going to be Essential Business Server + 2 terminal servers, its going to be used by 50 people.

I was thinking of the following (see attached PDF), Ive mostly plumped for the R3 Drives, should I do this?, is there any problems someone can see?, or should I just fire someone so i can afford dell drives ? Couple things that do concern me, are the file storage, will it be fast enough, and on the sql, the database being on raptors, do they work well in a server enviroment, all users will be using software that uses SQL.

Any feedback, would be greatly appreciated.

hardrives.pdf

What is standard practice for purchasing HDD hardware from vendors? I know they wont be covered under dell warranty.
Well, two common questions...

1) will the 3rd party drives work in your chosen box (or are they firmware locked to Dell-firmware disks?)

2) do you need special Dell-only drive trays or...?

If 3rd party drives wont' even work then the issue is moot.

Tons of people use PERC6/i's off eBay with 3rd party disks in non-Dell systems, but I have no idea in your specific example...

Well, two common questions...