UnixGeek

Logmein Remote Access

Have any of you ever used the Logmein Remote service? I have used all of their different versions of their product and they are all pretty handy for working on a computer remotely.

I've actually just been searching for free remote access alternatives for the home version of Win 7, which does not have remote access embedded. I'm using TeamViewer right now, it's free for personal use, but it's not very reliable and after a session is over, sometimes you have to physically click a dialog box on the remote computer which is silly.

http://www.teamviewer.com/index.aspx

Live Mesh. 'Nough said.

That said, I am constantly amazed at how well OSX's screen sharing works. Its able to, for the most part, display my gigantic desktop on my mini from my work with no ui lagginess.

I have been using the Logmein Free version for a couple of years now and I have been fairly impressed with it for being a free product. I recently tried Logmein Pro and Logmein Rescue as well. The Pro version has some nifty tools built into it such as registry editor, process listing and more. The Rescue version also works great but it basically only works on Windows.

I recently used LogMeInPro to support a Win7 users, I used for many hours at a time over 1 week, it never failed, and had some nifty features - can work out expensive, but for worth it for serious business support. Citrix have similar offerings and that also worked pretty well.

I have played with Teamviewer and it seems Ok, not as polished as LogMeInPro though.

I tried a hardware appliance a few years ago called Bomgar, good idea if you need support many people, pricey though.

Also uses TightVNC, bit of a fiddle to set-up if the person you are trying to support is not tech savy and really is not geared towards.