Are you using a 64 bit   

26 members have voted

1. 1. Are you using a 64-bit OS?

• Yes.
    • No.

I've used only 32-bit OSes most of my life up until recently when I was finally able to afford a 64-bit capable PC (proudly running Windows 7 Ultimate). I actually plan on dual-booting with Linux as well and am in the process of selecting a good 64-bit distro. So, any other 64-bit users out there? From what I've seen in the forum so far, I predict there will be a lot of "Yes." answers in the poll.

My last computer was 32-bit but the replacement they sent me (mine died completely) has 64-bit. Still Vista, unfortunately. I was hoping for a free update to Win 7 but you can't have it all. I haven't noticed a bit of difference from the 32-bit to the 64-bit so far but I've only been using it for a couple days. What is the difference in the end?

I have been using 64 Bit for a few years and fought hard for it on another site previous to this... In my own experience, I don't find any performance increase in 64Bit but do find it to be alot more stable. Conversely, chances of picking up a virus are significantly less (notice I did not say eliminated).

I remember way back when everyone laughed believing 64bit could not make it because the software developers would never invest with the programs...

If anything, it is worth it strictly for technological advance I think and...its free! If you have a 32bit version, simply find yourself a 64bit retail version on the net (they are everywhere) and use your key to activate it. There are no legal concerns that I am aware of.

I did not know that there was less risk of a virus with the 64-bit operating system. That's always a good thing to hear. So far the only problem I'm having is that my Diablo games do not work and I can't seem to find a patch that will make them compatible.