JcRabbit

Help configuring 3 Intel X25-M 80 GB SSDs in RAID 0

Ok, lets put the new StorageReview board to the test. :P

First of all, I'm completely new to RAID, so please treat me kindly. :rolleyes:

I just purchased a new system with a core i7 920, Asus P6T Deluxe v2 motherboard (ICH10R chipset), 3 Intel X25-M 80 GB SSDs and Windows 7 64 bit. Because I didn't have much time, I asked the shop I purchased the system from to put it together and build the RAID 0 array for me.

This, apparently, was a mistake: I just run HDTACH 3.0 and HD Tune Pro 4.01 and the average read is about 245 MB/s, which should be the speed of a single SSD drive, not 3 in a RAID 0 array (from what I read, SSDs in RAID 0 scale in almost perfect multiples until the limit of the chipset, which is somewhere around 600 MB/s).

So, what is wrong? What did they do wrong and what do I have to check/undo to get the RAID 0 array working as it should?

Since I'm new to RAID, I'll probably need a step by step guide, sorry... :( In other words, if you need to ask me questions, as you probably will, please tell me also where I can find the answers.

Edited by JcRabbit

Something else: I just booted into the Intel Matrix Storage Manager and this is the information it gives me:

ID: 0

Level: RAID 0(Stripe)

Strip: 128 KB

Size: 223.5 GB

Bootable: Yes

The 3 SSDs are listed as Intel model SSDSA2M080, 74.5 GB, with a Type/Status of 'Member Disk (0)'

Somebody?

Anyway, further info:

HDTach reports the burst rate to be 440.3 MB/s (rather low, no?)

The SSDs are all connected to the red ICH10R SATA connectors (SATA1 to SATA3) and the CD-ROM drive is connected to the SATA4 connector.

Perhaps this is a question of not installing the proper driver on Win7? I've been searching the net for info on this, but, so far, most of the articles I've found seem to skip all the initial basic steps.

Ahem. I think I've just shown my complete and utter ignorance on this subject, hehe.