Mocorongo

Do you agree Maxtor is responsible for Seagate failures?

Ever since Maxtor was purchased from Seagate in 2005-2006 we heard many reports from dead drives, from several different models, like the 500 GB/1 TB/1.5 TB making almost impossible to trust this company again... We are not talking about a bunch of people/drives, but thousands of them...

http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/3...7200-11-failing

This is not a conspiracy theory, I am merely stating facts that are common knowledge. We all know Maxtor was famous for releasing faulty drives. I heard a lot of people complaining their drives were awful and unreliable. And even if they survive, their lifespan was shorter than all other drives, dying in 3 or 4 years for example, while you can use Samsung, WD/Seagate for 5, 6 years.

Well, I am not an expert in this subject, but I am sure that if Seagate purchased Maxtor, then it's safe to assume they will interfer in the production of these drives. If they were doing a lousy job before...

What do you think?

Considering that once Seagate absorbed Maxtor, they largely laid off all the Maxtor employees (those who didn't see the writing on the wall and leave voluntarily), I don't think there's much water in this theory.

Plus, I don't think Seagate took over much of Maxtor's manufacturing capability. I know they didn't retain the relationship with MKE (holdover from the Quantum merger).

Frankly, no company is immune from bad luck/decisions. It doesn't take outside influence. ;)

Considering that once Seagate absorbed Maxtor, they largely laid off all the Maxtor employees (those who didn't see the writing on the wall and leave voluntarily), I don't think there's much water in this theory.

Plus, I don't think Seagate took over much of Maxtor's manufacturing capability. I know they didn't retain the relationship with MKE (holdover from the Quantum merger).

Frankly, no company is immune from bad luck/decisions. It doesn't take outside influence. ;)