Sign in to follow this  
MD1

How many drives for raid 0?

Hi,

I'm a newb and have only been using single drives for years. I need some questions answered about raid 0.

Just how many drives can you put together in raid 0 on the motherboard chipset( X58 )? Or seperate raid controller?

Is the motherboard raid good enough for everyday tasks/gaming or do I need to buy a controller?

One last thing...would it be better in terms of performance/price to buy, say, 4 cheap drives or 2 of the best drives ( think raptor ) for raid 0?

I'm going to be building a new computer soon and I'm still on the fence as to which way to go for storage. Mainly going to be using the new computer for games and lite stuff. Data safety is not a issue. ( dont need raid 10 or NAS )

Thanks

Hi,

I'm a newb and have only been using single drives for years. I need some questions answered about raid 0.

Just how many drives can you put together in raid 0 on the motherboard chipset( X58 )? Or seperate raid controller?

Is the motherboard raid good enough for everyday tasks/gaming or do I need to buy a controller?

One last thing...would it be better in terms of performance/price to buy, say, 4 cheap drives or 2 of the best drives ( think raptor ) for raid 0?

I'm going to be building a new computer soon and I'm still on the fence as to which way to go for storage. Mainly going to be using the new computer for games and lite stuff. Data safety is not a issue. ( dont need raid 10 or NAS )

Thanks

MB Sata ports are usually perfect for RAID 0, 1, 10 conf with 4-6 drives max

If you are looking for sequential transfer throughput: the more disk you have in raid 0, the better it is

If you are looking for direct io throughput: the faster rpm your disk are, the better it is (SSD rules this direct io world)

==> As I have no idea (neither time to learn) of the kind of io of your favorite games, I can not help more

raid 0 is not good. you want it for imaginary reasons.