Sign in to follow this  
inktri

Is my SCSI U320 Configuration set up properly?!?!

I am a complete noob who has just purchased a U320 drive. Can someone tell me if my setup is correct (ie. terminator in right place)?

_____

Four Items:

1x U320 SCSI Drive (http://www.hitachigst.com/portal/site/en/menuitem.f7da5b80da420cb0483bad24eac4f0a0/)

1x 68-80pin adapter (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=300174452449&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=020)

1x 68-68pin cable (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=270189215134&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=017#ebayphotohosting)

1x SCSI U320 PCI adapter/controller (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=270190884626&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=017)

_____

So basically the setup is as follows:

1. has a terminator, 2. is connected to the 68-80pin adapter, 3. is connected to nothing, 4. is connected to the SCSI controller/adapter

scsi68ml4.th.jpg

p1030026iz3.th.jpg

p1030027wp3.th.jpg

_____

Additional Questions:

1. Below is my setup... did I put the terminator in the right place? Do I need to put anothoer terminator somewhere?

2. Can the middle male 68-pin connector be left like that?

3. Do I need to put jumpers on my 68-80pin adapter to assign the hard-drive an SCSI id? There's only one hard drive in my configuration

_____

Thank you for the help

Edited by inktri

That should do fine, the terminator's in the right place. Typically, one end of the cable should be terminated, the other end connected to the SCSI controller. Whether the connectors in the middle are connected to drives or not, really doesn't matter.

The jumpers labelled ID3 to ID0 specify the SCSI ID, in binary, with ID3 being the MSB, and ID0 being the LSB. With no jumpers on those pins, the ID of the drive will be 0.