Noel

SCSI and Termination: help!

It's hard to fathom, but I have been using 3 SCSI drives for 4 years in my desktop and really don't have a clue what I'm doing! I added a 4th drive and I am almost ashamed to say used the trial and error method to set up jumpers so the 4th drive would be recognized (!!). I have been operating under the belief that I did not need to consider this "termination" issue and I find a few articles I've read to really not improve my understanding of the issues with this.

Can someone put me in touch with an "idiot's guide to SCSI" in web article form? Or just explain what I need to know in simple terms?

Here is ALL I have in my SCSI system, ie I have no other SCSI devices:

4 U320 Seagates (3 are 15K, 1 is 10K, not that this matters I believe!)

1 LSI1010 U160 controller in a regular PCI slot

Here are my questions, and if you can answer them then I may remain blissfully ignorant of all the other SCSI concerns, as I have done so far! I guess I can contact SEAGATE, whose tech support may be able to reduce my questions down to short and effective answers.

1. Is there any need to specify which device is "terminated", or is this automatic or P&P?

2. What do I need to know about "parity"?

3. If I picked up a U320 controller that plugs into a standard PCI slot, will I gain anything in transfer rates over my current card?

Obviously if my system is working, something must be set up correctly. What has made me post this distress call is that when I put on the 4th drive a few weeks ago, simply specifying a SCSI ID did not lead to the controller's BIOS picking up the drive, in fact it was an either or situation: with the new drive added, two others DISAPPEARED! I ended up dinking around with some jumpers and I really wasn't certain exactly what I was doing.