innomind

Fastest hard drive configuration for video editing

Hello everyone!

It is my first time building a computer myself and I have couple of questions in regards to choosing what hard drives to get and what RAID set up to go with for blazing fast write speeds. I will be using Adobe video editing and effects programs on this rig so the write speed to hard drives must be extremely fast.

Here is the list of components I will be using to build this machine:

Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 Quad Core Processor

Asus P5WDG2 WS Professional Motherboard

Scythe SCNJ1100P 120mm CPU Cooling Fan

Antec P180 Silver Mid Tower

Corsair CMPSU-620HX 620W ATX EPS12V PS/2 Modular Power Supply

4GB of Kingston 1GB PC2-6400 800MHz 240-pin Non-ECC Unbuffered CL5 DDR2 SDRAM DIMM

PNY NVIDIA Quadro FX 1500 Video Card (MPN: VCQFX1500PCIEPBV)

So my question is... What is the fastest under 300GB SATAII hard drive on the market today that I can use for c: drive (this drive will not be using any RAID configuration since it is purely for the OS and the apps installed)

So the d: drive will be using RAID0 consisting of two or three hard drives (depending on available capacity of each drive). I heard that WD Raptor hard drives 150GB in capacity are really fast when two of such setup on RAID0 (for WRITE speed performance), is that true? The Asus P5WDG2 WS Professional Motherboard I will use has RAID0 capability, however, I hear going with Areca ARC 12x1 ML PCIe SATAII Raid controller will yield more write speed. Will I gain noticeable speed gain with this controller? Anyone uses this approach?

I shoot a lot of video and I think having the d: drive dedicated for editing video only will be both fast and economical. The finished edited video projects will then be moved to the external USB/Firewire drives for long-term storage.

Any comment coherent to this is really appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

Renat Zarbailov of Innomind.org

Hi Renat,