Sign in to follow this  
Norbornano

.: HP SAS FIRMWARE | PROBLEM :.

Dear StorageReview Forum Members,

i'm a graphic designer from Italy. I bought 3 Hard Disk HP DF146A8B57 (PROBABLY THERE ARE A Seagate 146Gb SAS ST3146854SS but with HP FIRMWARE).

http://www.zeroipocrisia.com/public/xtremestation/hp_001.jpg

http://www.zeroipocrisia.com/public/xtremestation/001.jpg

I don't have an HP server. If you ask yourself, why this guy bought HP disk without have an HP server, I tell you that I though that this OEM drive and Seagate was the same. Probably are the same drives but with a firmware modification. And I bought it shure that HP made a good HARDWARE. Yes next time i read much better DATASHEET.

Anyways, right now I have this 3 drives and i need support from you. My drives shipped firmware are HPD4. I need to upgrade it to HPD6 or HPD7. I don't know how is better for me.

This is my workstation configuation:

CPU: Intel Core 2 extreme X6800

MOTHERBOARD: ASUS P5WDG2-WS Pro ( chipset 975x )

SAS CONTROLLER: Adaptec 4800SAS (PCI-X)

MEMORY: Corsair XMS2 4x1Gb

POWER SUPPLY: ENERMAX GALAXY 1000WATT

I had installed Windows Server 2003 and Suse Linux 10.0. But i can't load the new FIRMWARE into DISKS.

h18007.www1.hp.com/support/files/storage/us/locate/1110_6255.html

h18007.www1.hp.com/support/files/storage/us/download/24308.html

h18007.www1.hp.com/support/files/storage/us/download/24813.html

I try under Linux to launch CP006370.scexe | CP006611.scexe but no device detected. I read carefully many forum and i connect only one drive to the controller and set it to VOLUME. Linux and Windows detect the device, only the "shell script updater" doesn't detect the DISK. (i try with one disk only..so if something goes wrong...i broke only one SAS disk........and you know that it cost so much money....)

"This disk drive component requires Smart Array P600 firmware version 1.50 or later available at "