Carlton Bale

My RAID5 PCI-Express System: Pitiful Performance - Need Recommendatio

I've been working to fix a problem with my file server for several months now and I can't figure out a solution. I'm using it to serve my movies to one client PC, which shouldn't be hugely demanding based on the capabilities of the hardware. The problem is that the server keeps "pausing", making the movies jump, stutter, and sometime quit all together on the client end. The disk utilization is fairly low from the monitoring I've done, but yet it still can't deliver files "smoothly".

I've isolated the problem to the RAID system. I have a Seagate 500GB SATA connected to the motherboard controller and it servers files flawlessly. The shares located on the Areca ACR-1230 (RAID 5 w/ 4 500GB Seagate SATA drives) can't serve for more than 30 seconds without hiccups.

What I've tried:

• Windows Server 2003 and Vista Beta 2 (Server 2003 was better, but problem was similar for both installs)
  • Uninstall all third-party drivers (no effect)
  • Disable all background services (no effect)
  • Monitor processes to figure out what could be causing disk activity (no single application is using the disk when the stutter occurs)
  • Different motherboard BIOS/RAID drivers/RAID firmwares (no effect)
  • Updated all Seagate drives to the latest AAH firmware as suggested in forum post (no effect)

I'm thinking it must be an incompatibility between my motherboard and the Areca RAID card. I'm willing to buy a new motherboard, but I want to make sure I'm not going to be wasting money and not find a solution.

Does it sound like a motherboard/RAID card conflict? Any other suggestions if not that? If it is the motherboard, which motherboard should I try instead of this one? (I'd like to keep my Socket 939 processor/DDR400 memory, but I'll get rid of them & try something else if it will fix the problem.)

Thanks in advance for any help!

Hardware list: