BassKozz

WD4000YR vs. WD4000KD

I tried posting this in the Article Feedback section of these forums but it wouldn't let me... probly cus I am a newb here :P

I am building a personal file server, and I plan on using a RAID 5 array to keep everything safe and sound;)

After reading this article from AnandTech.com: Hitachi vs. Western Digital vs. Seagate: A Battle of the Mammoths

I have decided to go w/ Western Digital.:D

After reading the article on the StorageReview home page: What’s the difference between the WD4000YR and WD4000KD?

I have one question, in the article it states:

3. Finally, the RE2, living up to its moniker, ships with the firm’s “Time Limited Error Recovery†(TLER) feature enabled while the SE16 does not. This oft-confusing feature permits a drive to gracefully surrender error recovery features after an 8-second window of attempts rather than stubbornly continuing onwards with the assumption that an array’s redundancy features will cover the error and avoid data corruption. For drives that find themselves in a setup that features redundancy (anything other than RAID 0), this is a plus. For disks that don’t, it’s not.

My question is with the line that says "ships with the firm’s “Time Limited Error Recovery†(TLER) feature enabled while the SE16 does not."

Is that to say this feature can be enabled on the WD4000KD?

Or does it mean that it's not even an option for the KD only for the YR?

Because I will be using a RAID 5 array this feature will benifit me, correct? How much of a preformance difference will this feature really provide?

Thanks in advance,

-BassKozz

Edited by BassKozz

My guess is it's not an option to toggle on yourself. It'll be something set at the firmware level when the drive is manufactured. If you plan on using the drives in RAID 5, then go with the RE2 drive, as that's what it's designed for.