onebyte

Disappointed with SATA 2

I'm new to using anything but EIDE Parallel ATA hard drives. I'm a basic desktop /laptop user, and I thought that when I upgraded to a new DIY built system with SATA and SATA2 hard drives I'd see a dramatic increase in performance that involved disk intensive reads and writes, transfers between disks, and so on.

I'm disappointed that the reality doesnt begin to live up to all the hype and hoopla, although by now you'd think I'd know better than to expect that.

Talk about 150 MB/s transfer rates for SATA or 300 MB/s for Sata 2 is greatly exaggerated. I'm finding that my actual sustained read write times are in the 50 MB/s range with both SATA 1 and 2, and that is also disappointing. There seems to be absolutely no real world gain by going to SATA 2 over SATA 1.

Apparently, I am discovering, what no one is talking about is that there is an electro-mechanical limit to the physical ability for disk reads and writes, and no increase in data transmission rates can speed up that bottleneck or surpass that physical limitation.

So what is the point in spending considerably more money for Sata 2 disks over standard ATA or Ultra ATA 100 or 133 disks? The SATAs register about the same IO as the Ultra ATAs on my HD Tach meter. Granted that the burst rate is much higher, but that doesn't seem to translate into much higher real time sustained IO transfer rates.

Or am I missing something?

I just set up a NVidia GeForce 4 SLI system with NVidia SATA/RAID onboard and I'm getting about 90 MB/s average IO with raid 0 and two Hitachi 80 GB 7tk250's in tandem. It's certainly an improvement over a single disk, but I'm not sure if the added speed is work the risk, or that the added expense is justified.