geofftech

Don't buy maxtors.

I can now count on both hands how many maxtors have failed on me. How often do two drives fail simultaneously? The two drives were in a rackmounted LaCie etherdisk. I had the unit less than a year!

I want to buy two Maxtor MaxLine III 250GB, it's a bad idea? I have no experience with maxtor, but only with seagate and Western Digital. It's possible your drives was handled without care during shipping? Do you use active cooling?

I can now count on both hands how many maxtors have failed on me.  How often do two drives fail simultaneously?  The two drives were in a rackmounted LaCie etherdisk.  I had the unit less than a year!

208078[/snapback]

same way as any other drive would have died in that case.. heat or shock.

I want to buy two Maxtor MaxLine III 250GB, it's a bad idea? I have no experience with maxtor, but only with seagate and Western Digital. It's possible your drives was handled without care during shipping? Do you use active cooling?

208080[/snapback]

It's a horrible idea! geofftech's experience clearly indicates that all Maxtor drives are shipping defective from the factory. I personally will never buy another Maxtor product after hearing this shocking anecdotal account. :rolleyes:

Now, the only way to ensure that no one else will make the same mistake is to make sure that lexwalker and all the other board-spammers come out of the wood-work and add their voices to this thread. Surely it will grow to be a fountain of wisdom, educating worried, prospective Maxtor-buying-fools about the errors of their ways.

If you've ever had a Maxtor drive fail, I bequeath you: post in this thread so it can become as long and as stupid as the last one.

I did have Maxtor hard drives crap out on me. And Quantums. And IBM/Hitachi's. Samsungs too. Should not forget Seagate, that bad-evil company. Of course I've seen dead WD's as well.