Sign in to follow this  
Kevin Anderson

Raptor is noisy. So noisy....

Hi all. This is my first post here at Storagereview.com, and right away I need help. I've purchased a WD 74G Raptor. It's got a slightly smaller capacity than my old drive (Diamond Max 9), but I'd prefer speed over size, as I really only use the PC for browsing and playing a few games. I knew before I purchased it that it would be noisier than my Maxtor drive. That was a given. However, on installing the Raptor, I was both pleased, and disappointed at the same time. The idle sound is fine. Can't even hear it. The seeks are ok too, no louder (IMO) than my old drive. However, the thing seeks all the time! Sitting idly in Windows (nice fresh install) it clicks away ever few seconds or so, enough to light the HD activity LED. And it's very annoying! I have no background programs running that could be being accessed. The drive was delivered OEM, with no software or cabling. Am I missing something? I have done a search before posting here, and read something about drives doing a self-test for a while when they're new....but I've never heard of this. The drive seems fairly quick, though not earth shatteringly fast. Frankly, I'd be happy to stick with it, but the constant seeks noises are making me think I'd be best returning it and sticking with the Maxtor. Sorry for the long post, but any advice would be greatly appreciated!

If the HDD activity LED flashes, like you described, I believe you should blame the operating system. If the drive's firmware performs the seeks, the LED would probably not light up.

If you have no programs running on the background are you sure it's not the OS itself doing (for example) some indexing process on the drive?

Edited by whiic

I actually typed in my original post "are you sure it's not the XP itself" and edited it afterwards to be "OS". I just got the feeling you're running a XP and that feeling happened to be correct.