method

RAID 0 Stripe and cluster size help

Hey, im pretty new to raid and was wondering what stripe and cluster size to use.

I want to pair up two 120 gig seagate SATA drives in raid 0.

I kind or understand what stripes and clusters are.

The size of the Stripe is the ammount of data each drive will hold before before moving onto the next drive to span the data across a number of drives.. or something

And cluster size would be the same as what cluster size means with normal ntfs or fat32 partitions.

What i dont understand is the preformance gain of changing these and i dont know what sizes would be best.

My specs are:

Shuttle SN85G4 v2

XP64 2800+

1 gig of ram

blah blah

It has a silicon image SIL3512 chipset.

Also does changind the cluster and stripe sizes use more cpu and stuff? OR because its hardware (no idea how good this silicon image stuff is, onyl sued highpoint) should it calculate everythinjg it self without using the cpu?

Thanks for your time :)

I was planning on using the defult setting is that exists, but i do understand that too little a stripe will mean that latencies bog you down, and too large a stripe will mean that drive seek times will bog you down.

So i was wondering what the most common settings would be. But from what you have said i supose the preformance gain/loss is minimal?

I think what he's saying is that RAID0 is a waste of time, no matter what cluster and stripe settings you try. Use your 1st disk as a system drive and the other disk as you swapfile/scratch disk and you'll be much further ahead.

Spinme

So what your saying is raid0 is not really that much faster than two individual disks?

I did have a WD800jb which was relativly fast but id like to have shorter loading times in games and a faster boot up etc so i thought it would be a good idea to go Raid0 with two drives.

sorry but im slightly confused :lol::rolleyes: