Pete84

Adaptec 19160 + 2 36LP ERROR

I just got a pair of Seagate ST336704LW 36Gb drives and have been trying to get them to 'work' with my Adaptec 19160 SCSI card. So far a single drive has been recoginized, I think.

I have the IDs set for #s 4 and 5, with 4 on the header closest to the cart and five on the end of the cable.

On boot, the Adaptec BIOS comes up, and picks up a drive on channel 4, and that is all the data that it gives.

Any idea as to what I am missing? This is my first time with SCSI, and the PDF files that Seagate and Adaptec have don't seem to help my out much . . .

Thanks!!

Pete-

First, make sure you are using an U160 certified cable. Second, if your cable does not have an attached terminator at the end, make sure that the closest drive to the card has pins 1/2 on jumper J2 (on the side of the drive) open, and the drive furthest from the card has 1/2 jumpered.

-Michael

(...)

Second, if your cable does not have an attached terminator at the end, make sure that the closest drive to the card has pins 1/2 on jumper J2 (on the side of the drive) open, and the drive furthest from the card has 1/2 jumpered.

(...)

if he does not have an actual terminator, jumpering the last drive to supply termination power will do nothing. he has to have an lvd compliant terminator at the end of the chain for this feature to even have any meaning. secondly it is not necessary especially with the cable length he's working with (presumably 3-4 device cable at the most). thirdly he is using an adaptec controller and all adaptec controllers supply termination power to the chain by default.

pete:

to troubleshoot this situation you will have to connect the second drive to the same connector on the cable from which the first drive got recognized. if the drive is recognized fine and you do in fact have an lvd compliant cable and a terminator, you should inspect all the connectors on the cable for bent or touching pins and set them straight.