Fuzzy

Rounded IDE cables

Does rounded IDE cables affects the overall performance or maybe lowers down data integrity? From what i understand rounded IDE are done by stripping the normal IDE cables and these strips might cause shock between themselves. How true is that, what do u guys reckon?

Nothing true in what you said.

The only thing about IDE round cables is that it allows possibly a better airflow.

Ditto.

Not in my experience. I have had at least two incidents where rounded IDE cables have resulted in data corruption.

People that say rounded are the same as ribbon don't understand why it is a ribbon in the first place, and believe me there are very good reasons.

Don't get me wrong, I wish rounded was just as reliable, as I hate ribbons in my case. I have been using rounded cables for my floppy and cdroms for about 7 years now, but not for HD's any more.

Your mileage may vary though, and you may never have a problem, but realize there is some risk.

I have never had a problem with the Cables Unlimited brand round cables, always work great. I bought a 50 pack of Vantec cables once, still have most in a junk drawer, cant even use a CDRW reliably with them.

I build and work on lots of boxs and its more common then you would think to see problems that are the result of round cables. Some are just cheap round cables. Some is caused by them being removed and put back on often and not using teh paper tab to pull on them to get them off etc...

If I have a box to service thats having drive related probs the very first thing I do is put a standard flat cable on that I know is good just to eliminate that possibility.

Tex

If I have a box to service thats having drive related probs the very first thing I do is put a standard flat cable on that I know is good just to eliminate that possibility

However, it's not that uncommon to test another cable in those cases, round or not...