balster

Raid 5 Sata Best Controller For Video Editing

Hi all,

I'm kinda new to the raid 5 setup, thus far I'm planning on buying 3 Seagate 160GB sata hd's and running them in a raid 5 setup. So I'm looking for a fast 4x sata controller that runs on it's own processor.

I've searched the forum and have found that:

- 3ware is a good choice for servers

- Promise sucks (boot array and driver issues)

- Intel is slow in raid 5 config

- ICP Vortex is a Intel card with 64 mb more ram

I'm down to 2 candidates:

- Raidcore RC4452

- LSI Megaraid 150-4

- Raidcore is kinda new and uses the system cpu BUT is very fast.

- LSI comes out first in raid 5 in this test: http://www.tweakers.net/reviews/400/8 It's cheap and has good driver/bios support.

So all in all there is a lot to choose from. Am I right in my conclusions and is it simply a chioce between Raidcore and LSI, a choice between speed and low cpu stress? Please help me out here.

Hi sechs,

Thanks for the reply,

Well one thing that's not new for me is video editing, working with uncompressed digital broadcast video at roughly 20 mb/s can be heavy on your array when loading 1 hour tapes and scrolling timelines. Untill now I've been working on RAID 0 but recently one drive broke down during a project and I was not so happy about that as u can imagine.

So now I'm looking for a safe but fast solution and thus far I've come to find that this is either achieved by using RAID 5 or RAID 10. I stiil don't know what the best solution is.

And again what controller is best?

personally i would go with 3ware if you can afford it! They are exception across all aspects! Good drivers, speed, performace, support, etc. Also, you may want to have a spare 160 gig on hand, that way the raid can be rebuilt as quickly as possible. Raid 5 dont like to run in critical mode for long periods!

SCSA

P.S. if it aint 3ware, go with LSI. JUst update all of the BIOS, drivers, etc to the latest, before making the RAID 5!!!...