smc23

Scsi For A Newb

Hi there,

I'm totally new to SCSI and was wondering what 32bit controller card and cables i need to start a 1 drive system?

BTW, which is more popular the 68pin or 80pin drives? I see U160 U320 I don't know?

www.hypermicro.com has had a special where you could buy a certain SCSI drive and get a free SCSI card. I took advantage of this deal last year and that's what I'm running. I just sent them an email asking if the special is still on and if so, which equipmet it applies to. I'll let you know after they tell me.

Likely the card is an LSI U160. It's 64-bit/33MHz and works in 32-bit PCI slots - that's what I'm doing. I saved $20 by getting an 80-pin drive since they include a free 80-to-68 pin adapter. You'll be fine with either pin count, just be sure to get a 68-pin LVD cable. Length/number of positions at your discretion.

And you won't be able to make use of U320 transfer speed unless you have 64-bit/66MHz PCI slots (the long ones) - in fact you won't hit U160 (160MB/s) unless you have two or three good drives transferring among themselves all at once.

The only thing to add to this is that the card may or may not come with an adequate cable. Probably the best cables are from here: http://www.granitedigital.com - terminators, too. Once of the nice things about their cables is that you can easily get a custom "perfect" cable for your case, with the correct lengths, etc. Also, if you are new to SCSI if you tell them what you have and what you are doing they will help guide you to the proper cable.

Thanks all for your help!

Here's what i chose so far from hyper micro. Is this all i need? I jst want to hook them all up when i get them and not worry if i need anything else.

[For Intel PC or equivalent]