Gummo

Connecting Two Computers Together.

My new computer just arrived and I'd like to hook it up with my old one. I've never used a LAN before so I've been googling quite abit and pressing F1, but I can't do it.

I want to host on the new computer which is running WinXP home. The older one is using WinXP Pro. Each computer has an ethernet card, and the cable is called a 5CAT cable, which seems to fit in snuggly.

The best help I found referred to the New Connection Wizard, and I did the following.

Set up advanced connection

Connect directly to another computer

Host

Direct Parallel [LPT1]

Ticked all allowed users, except support and helpassistant

Then an icon would appear called Incoming Connections.

The instructions would then just say do the same to the other computer but select guest instead of host. I start getting lost after selecting guest. (The second after the instructions end). It asks for the name of the host computer, so I type in AmigaMkII as this is the name I entered for the host computer when it first booted up. Then in the next step it asks for the user name and password, (and I'm thinking wtf?) and it can't even connect to the 'remote computer' to verify them. (The guest doesn't have a modem if that's what it's trying to use).

Also, for both computers there is an icon in the bottom right corner saying 'a network cable is unplugged'. A friend of mine used a LAN a couple of times and he said that he always had that unplugged icon showing in the corner. But I though it would be best to mention it.

If anyone could tell me what I should be trying or where any full guides are I would greatly appreciate it, thanks.

Direct Parallel [LPT1]

That would be a printer port...

Try using the crossover (aka X-over) cat5 ethernet cable as suggested and then re-running the wizard.