f_vo

Already 4.700.000 people infected with aids virus

In South Africa already 4,7 million people are infected with aids. Government now will provide those people with medication to fight the desease.

Any thoughts on the hows and the why's?

Someone mentioned to me yesterday that Africans will probably be the first to develop an immunity to AIDS... leaving the rest of us at a disadvantage...

Pretty tough to develop an immunity until a very large chunk of the population is killed -- generally the vast majority. I'm not sure there is a whole lot of evidence that anyone has developed any immunity; however, I'm no expert and I haven't been looking for anything on it.

I just wanted to start a topic about something that exists some 20 years already and is still expanding, Rosenberg ;)

Of course most of the infected people do get this from sex....

But as SuperC states: if the Africans are the first to develop immunity (if possible), then by that time we maybe have a cure for it, hopefully.

Someone mentioned to me yesterday that Africans will probably be the first to develop an immunity to AIDS... leaving the rest of us at a disadvantage...

Pretty tough to develop an immunity until a very large chunk of the population is killed -- generally the vast majority. I'm not sure there is a whole lot of evidence that anyone has developed any immunity; however, I'm no expert and I haven't been looking for anything on it.

Besides, the AIDS virus mutates so fast that being "immune" to one or several virus strains would be of only limited usefulness. I'm not sure it's possible to develop an immunity to the more "general" function of the virus.