• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Rafal Vlx

Rafal Vlx

• 2 posts

Posted 29 August 2013 - 08:00 AM

Hi,
I've just got HP DL380 G5 server for small company, till i got it i believed it has 3.5 inch bays for HDD, and was thinking about inserting SATA WD RE4 drives. But now i'm stuck. It's my first time i'm building server, and i dont know wchich 2.5 SATA drives select.

I've never managed any RAID array yet so topics like 'HDD's dropping from RAID' issues makes me fear. I've found drives that have absolutly no TLER, set to 0s:
WD AV-25 series, which is the same as WD AV-GP, but in 2.5" form factor. But as those drives do not have ANY error correction, will they work with HP SmartArray P400 controller in RAID 5 mode?

My thinking is: RAID Edition gives up after 7s, and notifies controller about that, so that RAID controller should take care of error. If WD AV series gives up after 0s RAID controller should also take care of that? The question is: Does AV series WD drives notifies RAID controllers about that fact or it just proceeds writing?

Second question is:
Are there any 2.5 inch hdds that will run in RAID 5 without dropping to frequently? Considering WD Black 2.5, Seagate 7200.5 (ST9500423AS), or some hitachis traveler, will they work?

Edit: Server will consist of 3 hdd's combined in RAID5, OS, and everything will be on it.

Edited by Rafal Vlx, 29 August 2013 - 08:02 AM.

#2 continuum

continuum

Mod

• Mod
  • 3,536 posts

Posted 29 August 2013 - 12:55 PM

Is this for actual production use? If it is, run appropriate nearline-targeted SATA drives. I would not run standard desktop drives if this is for actual production use and actual system uptime is important.