Reliability a premium

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 PJNanook

PJNanook

• 4 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 02:16 PM

I am a photographer looking for bare Hard drives. These will be used in a SATA dock and then stored offline for longer term storage. What drives should I choose? Looking at a balance of price and size. Reliability is the most important factor. I will be using drives in sets of two where they both have Identical information but stored in different locations. My live storage is on a mirror Raid.

Thanks,

Kevin

#2 dietrc70

dietrc70

• 104 posts

Posted 05 April 2013 - 03:28 PM

The warranty is a good indicator of the class of a hard drive. Drives with 5 year warranties are usually the best. I would get Western Digital Black's in your situation. They are often reasonably priced, and are quite reliable. Remember that most hard drives are not designed to be knocked around badly, so be sure to invest in fitted anti-static cases (the original shipping box could work) to store and transport them when they aren't mounted. Storing the RAW files in a checksumed format with built in recovery features (i.e. winrar with recovery features and file authentication, or proprietary backup software) would be a good idea to protect against possible bit rot during long storage.

I also suggest you look into on-line backup services. I am an amateur photographer, and use Crashplan to automatically backup my important data to their secure datacenters. Personal plans with unlimited data are very reasonably priced.

Edited by dietrc70, 05 April 2013 - 03:31 PM.

#3 PJNanook

PJNanook

• 4 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:52 PM

Thanks for the input. I have been leaning towards those drives and some Wiebetech (sp?) cases. I also do some backup on DVD. I will look into the cloud storage but have control issues on my images.

K

#4 FastMHz

FastMHz

• 400 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 02:12 PM