• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Kelvin Z.

Kelvin Z.

• 2 posts

Posted 23 February 2013 - 10:49 PM

Hi !
I'm a video editor, and I'm trying to get a good "RAID 0" (software) to speed up my HD editing. I will give my computer specs before exposing the problem :

------ COMPUTER SPECS : -------------
Operating System : Windows 7 64bit professional.
Motherboard : Intel DX79TO (Extreme edition)
CPU : Intel i7-3930k (3.2Ghz / overclocked 4.5ghz stable)
Memory : 64Gb 1600mhz Corsair Vengeance(8x8gb) model CMZ64GX3M8A1600C9.
Graphic : Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680 (4Gb) O.C.
System Disk : SSD SAMSUNG 840 pro (256gb) for Windows and Programs.
1 HDD for backups : Western Digital Blue (1Tb), model WD10EARS.
2 HDD for RAID-0 : Western Digital RED (1Tb each), model WD10EFRX.
-------------------------------------

Since my movies (some in Uncompressed HD)were lagging, I set up a RAID-0 with 2 identical disks.
My video editing started playing smoothly, and I thought I was out of trouble.
Everything seemed to be working great until one of my friends asked me to make a CRYSTALDISKMARK(64bits) benchmark.

Here is the result for the RAID-0 (software) test with CrystalDiskMark :

Posted Image

I think the read and write speed for the Sequencial test is really good (as Uncompressed HD are demanding 179Mb/s, and I'm gettin 298Mb/s). However, take a look at the "Random Read 512k" test. I'm getting a 13.18Mb/s read ! (even though the write result is 137.8Mb/s.) This result alarms me a bit. I've seen a lot of benchmarks on different posts using Raid-0, and nobody gets this odd result in the 512k random read test.

So I deleted the raid, tried to rebuild it : same result. I redeleted it and made lots of other benchmarks with the single drives (and a RAID-1 bench too).

Here are the side-by-side results for the 2 drives in single configuration.

Posted ImagePosted Image