• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 kenny1999

kenny1999

• 6 posts

Posted 22 February 2013 - 01:53 PM

hi everybody i'm new to the harddisk forum, hope get help here. Thanks

I ve bought a new WD my passport portable 2.5 harddrive 1Tb, i've got some questions and hope to get rid of lots of confusions that have been in my mind for some time. Thanks

1. is it really necessary to 'safely remove' the harddisk each time I unplug the USB port? what could happen if I don't do this?

(I find that even after I 'safely remove' the harddisk from windows and the harddisk icon under 'My Computer' disappear, the harddisk is in fact still running for some time (I can feel the vibration with my hand) before it really stops (no more vibration)

I want to know if I unplug the USB cable when the harddisk is still 'in vibration', will it cause some extent of damage to the harddisk

2. does it really 'hurt' the harddisk that much if I move the harddisk when it is running?

I don't mean to be rude with my hardisk intentionally but I might not be able to follow the 'rule' very strictly (safely remove every time and keep the harddisk 100% stationary when using it) will there be problems with it? Thank you

Thanks

#2 Mickey

Mickey

• Patron
  • 2,272 posts

Posted 22 February 2013 - 02:36 PM

The reason for "safely removing" the drive before unplugging is to ensure you do not lose any data. If Windows is writing to the drive (and has not finished), then yanking power will result in lost data. Asking Windows to "safely remove" tells the OS to finish writing and make sure data is safe before giving the "all clear" sign.

The disk drive itself isn't harmed by plugging or unplugging the USB cable during operation. The bigger risk is accidentally dropping or jostling the drive while the disks are still spinning, as they are more sensitive to shocks/vibration during operation than when completely off.

#3 FastMHz

FastMHz

• 400 posts