what drives should I buy haha :)

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jack black

jack black

• 1 posts

Posted 24 November 2012 - 07:23 AM

Hi there Storage review residents. this is my first time. so please do be gentle :)

so I bought a new sexy case today a corsair 600T white. its a beauty :) and a new 8 core black edition FX 8350. so I am now about to get some new drives. So atm I have a 2tb green drive, and then a 500gb seagate 7200.11 model both fairly old now. So I am thinking about new drives.

I was thinking about getting a WD black 3TB and maybe a 128gb SSD for windows and some games. or a 700gb Velocity raptor.
are the WD blacks really worth the extra cash say over a standard barracuda? or even a WD blue or green? I looked at your reviews. I saw you had one for the blue and green. however they were the sata 2 versions. and Im wondering if they are any different now with sata 3 interface?

and then looking at SSd's im getting a little overwhelmed with all the specs. now I know that the latest ones are just blisteringly fast the samsung 840 Pro. but is there a model version, that sort of gets to cost vs performance value without spending 500 bucks on? and then there was caertain models of all brands that had lots of faults. when was this corrected on most of them? because im sure even if I got a low/ mid range ssd it would still kill velocity raptors and WD black drives right?
then in your WD green review you mentioned they really dont save that much power anyway. so maybe a black is the way to go

So I would be having a primary drive for windows etc. then another for program files and file space etc. I will put my 2tb Green drive I currently have into a caddy, for storage etc. so a 128gb ssd would be full after windows 7. 2 call o duty games, and some prog files.

Personally I know a SSD would be amazing. but It doesn't phase me that it takes my system 45 seconds to get into the load screen