Storage & Back Up Solution Advice

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 crutonix

crutonix

• 3 posts

Posted 31 October 2012 - 09:28 AM

I'm a photographer who also does some video. I shoot an average of about 100GB/month or more. I'm working mostly with a MacBook Pro which has been fast enough most of the time but I may upgrade to the 13" or 15" Retina with SSD drives. I've got a 500GB SSD Hybrid for my main drive and a 750 additional internal drive which replaces my optical. I'm using Capture One, Photoshop and After Effects.

Looking into the easiest way to store and back up my work.

What I've been thinking of investing in so far:

Option 1:
8TB WD or G-Tech Thunderbolt drives set to 4TB Mirrored. When full I would change out the drives and use the same enclosure. It seems like the WD is easier to swap drives with and I hear they are finally using faster 7200 RPM Hitachi drives rather then their own WD drives. ($700-$800 for initial set up and then I would buy smaller (maybe even SSD) drives for certain jobs or continue with a new set of 4TB's if they go down in price)

Option 2:
Find a good dual drive enclosure for 2x 4TB drives. Possibly a Thunderbolt enclosure if one exists. Could anyone recommend a good enclosure if this is the way to go? I'd like something fast and easy to swap drives out.

Option 3.
A Dual Bay Docking Station such as the Thermaltake for about $60 and 2x 4TB internal drives. Concerned it would be rather slow. Does anybody know which docking station works best with Mac and supports up to 4TB?
is anybody coming out with a Thunderbolt docking station?

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Kdawgca

Kdawgca

Modinator

• Mod
  • 648 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 01:35 PM

No USB 3.0, correct?