How failure prone are SSDs?

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Noel

Noel

• 137 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 09:57 AM

I'm new at this! What can expect in terms of service life in a fast SSD solution for desktop applications? The apps I use will not involve a lot of write operations per se...

Thanks in advance,

Noel

#2 FastMHz

FastMHz

• 405 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 10:05 AM

The latest generation from the big names are pretty reliable. Of course, always keep a backup image on a platter drive because SSDs are still a young, evolving technology.

I personally recommend the Samsung drives, since they're made entirely in-house.

Production: Vishera 8350/32gb RAM/Dual SSD/VelociRaptor/Radeon 7750
Gaming: Vishera 6350/16gb RAM/SSD/VelociRaptor/2x Radeon 7950 Crossfired
Retro: K6-2 550/256mb RAM/160gb HDD/CompactFlash/3DFX/ATI AIW Pro/SB16/DB50XG
http://www.fastmhz.com

#3 Brian

Brian

SR Admin

• Admin
  • 5,443 posts

Posted 14 October 2012 - 01:42 PM

They're very reliable, most failures will happen fast, but in general, they're more reliable than hard drives. And with prices coming down well below $1/GB, consumers will continue to keep up the adoption.

Brian

Publisher- StorageReview.com
Twitter - @StorageReview

#4 Bytebite

Bytebite

• 66 posts

Posted 16 October 2012 - 03:13 AM

I can recommend Samsung 830 SSDs, but like the other already mentioned, please make backups on a hdd. A drive failure is much less hassle having an update on site!

#5 compwizrd

compwizrd

• 413 posts

Posted 16 October 2012 - 07:31 PM

My experience over the last year has sadly been with OCZ's.. they just drop dead. We switched over to the Intel 520's and so far it's been trouble free.

#6 Beenthere

Beenthere

• 178 posts

Posted 22 October 2012 - 10:52 AM